Free Shipping Across India | Pay Cash On Delivery | Call: 8970308999 (Mon - Sat)

search lense
Call or WhatsApp Us :8970308999Let us call you

List of UGC Recognised Open Universities


Open Universities in India

Open Universities in India facilitates distance education to people who are unable to pursue regular courses. Distance education is provided to people on Academic, Technical and Professional subjects. The Distance Education Council of India (DEC) regulates the open universities in India. Distance Education Council of India is an organization based in New Delhi, which maintains the standards, encourages and organizes the activities of Open and Distance learning in India. DEC encourages the state governments and conventional universities to set up open universities and distance education centers. DEC also arranges funds to run these universities. DEC also does the assessment and accreditation of these universities.

UGC Recognised Open Universities

Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Open University: This is a public institution of higher learning in Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India. Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Open University provides a variety of courses and degree programs through distance education mode and other flexible mediums for its students. Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Open University is named after Indian political leader Dr. Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar. Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Open University offers 38 programmes with an enrolment of more than 1,00,000 learners. The University is headquartered at Ahmedabad.

Indira Gandhi National Open University: The Indira Gandhi National Open University, (known as IGNOU) is a national university headquartered in New Delhi. The university was established in 1985 and is named after former Prime Minister of India, Indira Gandhi. IGNOU has 3,000,000 students. The University was founded to impart education by means of distance and open education, provide higher education opportunities particularly to the disadvantaged segments of society, to encourage, coordinate and set standards for distance and open education in India and strengthen the human resources of India through education.

Karnataka State Open University: This is a distance learning university founded in 1996 and located in Mysore, Karnataka. The University was formally established on June 1996 under the Karnataka State Open University Act of 1992, with the objectives of introducing and promoting the system of open university and distance learning in the state of Karnataka, and coordinating and determining the standard of such a system in the state. The University has its headquarters in Mysore. Karnataka State Open University imparts education to over 40,000 students from all over India. Karnataka State Open University functions through 13 departments managed by 57 well-qualified faculty members, and its network of Study Centres continues to expand fast, right across the state of Karnataka.

Madhya Pradesh Bhoj Open University: Madhya Pradesh Bhoj Open University, or simply Bhoj University is a public university in Bhopal in the state of Madhya Pradesh. Madhya Pradesh Bhoj Open University provides higher education mainly through open and distance learning. It was named after Raja Bhoj, the renowned maharaja of India. The University was formed in 1991 under an act by the state legislature. This university promotes higher education among the underprivileged and has set up study centres in remote rural areas. Madhya Pradesh Bhoj Open University has collaboration with institutes like the Rehabilitation Council of India, Indian Institute of Tourism and Travel Management and Indian Institute of Material Management.

Netaji Subhas Open University: This is an open university imparting distance education in eastern India. Netaji Subhas Open University is the 58th largest university in the world. The Univewrsity was established in 1997 to commemorate the birth centenary of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose. Netaji Subhas Open University has its headquarters at Woodburn Park, Kolkata, once the residence of Netaji. The medium of instruction of the University are English and Bengali. Modeled on the Open University, UK and the IGNOU, Netaji Subhas Open University offers courses in different disciplines of taught graduate and post-graduate study.

Uttar Pradesh Rajarshi Tandon Open University: This is a public university located at Allahabad in the state of Uttar Pradesh. The university aims to provide access to higher education for large segments of population and in particular, the disadvantaged groups such as those living in remote and rural areas including working people, house wives and other adults who wish to upgrade or acquire knowledge through studies in various fields. Uttar Pradesh Rajarshi Tandon Open University will also make efforts to promote acquisition of knowledge in a rapidly developing and changing society and continually offer opportunity for upgrading knowledge, training and skills in the context or innovations , research and discovery in all fields of human endeavors. Uttar Pradesh Rajarshi Tandon Open University is open to all irrespective of caste, creed or sex and its jurisdiction is whole of Uttar Pradesh.

Vardhaman Mahaveer Open University: This is a university in Kota in the state of Rajasthan. The University is established on July 1987, and was initially known as Kota Open University. The University focuses particularly on subjects such as humanities, commerce, library science and informatics Vardhaman Mahaveer Open University includes among its aims the goal of seeking to educate those deprived under the conventional system of education. The University is geographically distributed throughout Rajasthan, with six regional centres and several tens of study centres in different cities, in addition to a special Centre at New Delhi. The University imparts education to more than 10,000 students.

Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University: This University was established in July 1989 by Act XX- (1989) of the Maharashtra State Legislature. The University is named after Yashwantrao Chavan, Maharashtra’s great political leader and builder of modern Maharashtra. Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University is the fifth Open University in India. The jurisdiction of the university has now been extended beyond the State of Maharashtra and the university can now operate anywhere across the globe. . Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University is a member of associations and bodies like the Association of Indian Universities (AIU), Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), Asian Association of Open Universities (AAOU), and Commonwealth of Learning (COL), Canada.

Related Tags: list of ugc recognised open universities, ugc recognised open universities, open universities, open universities in India, list of open universities, ugc recognised open universities in India